Nanowrimo: Ten Things I will do to ensure success next year.

Alas, NaNoWriMo has ended, and for the second consecutive year I did not win.  While my lack of success could be attributed to circumstances beyond my control (The flu, a computer virus, recurring migraines) there are some things I could have done to help me finish on time.  I vow to do these things next year, when I once again participate in the annual writing challenge.

1. I will write every day.  There were several days I did skip, especially due to the flu…needless to say that didn’t help me at all.

2. I will write MORE than 1,667 a day.  To insure that I would finish on time–if not early–I will do more than the daily word count requirement to ensure an early finish.

3.  Stream of consciousness writing. Fighting through writing block with stream of consciousness writing, even if it’s something I need to omit later…at least I got words in print, and sometimes the best stuff comes when you just let your mind flow…

4. Focus on that one story.  I won’t be distracted by anything else,  and start working on another project–unless you’ve already written more than 1,667 on the NaNoWriMo story.

5. Start with an outline.  This will help me avoid feeling “stuck” and at a  loss as far as the plot direction.  That really slowed me down in my writing process this year.

6. stick to a writing schedule, preferably when I am home alone and nothing is going on at the house…no phone ringing, etc…

7. Include long descriptive passages.  This will help to take up the word count, and I can always trim it down when I revise/edit.

8.  Repeat a sentence or two…by that I mean I can write a sentence two different ways, and when I go through and edit I can just delete which one doesn’t work as well.  Or white a completely new one.

9. I won’t worry about being sloppy, or typos.  after all, Jan-feb is for cleaning up all those errors.

10.  Don’t rely just on MSWord.  Keeping in mind that I can use my cellphone, tablet, and even my journal and a pen to jot down parts of the story, and then transcribe it later.

There it is.  Ten rules to write by next year…well then again most of it can apply now, as well. 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under creativity, Nanowrimo, writing

One response to “Nanowrimo: Ten Things I will do to ensure success next year.

  1. I actually made a similar post yesterday–it’s really helpful to think about what to do differently next year. I feel better about NaNo ’15 and it’s not even the new year yet! ^^ I know you’ll do much better next year 😀 Especially with these tips. It’s also important to keep writing regularly throughout the year, not just in November. That way it’ll be easier to write 1667++ each day when NaNo rolls around again.

Leave a Reply

