~Stay~

He lays still
Beside me
A Golden Statue
Adonis.

Eyes closed,
He drifts to sleep.

I lay beside him,
Gently snuggling.
So afraid of disturbing
The journey into his dreams…

Yet wonder if I am there.
Eyes flicker, and then open
I wonder what
He is thinking.

Groggy, he speaks
To me
Inquiring something…
And drifts again,
Into a dream.

I wonder again
If I am there,
And how he feels,
And what will be…

I wonder if
He will
Stay.

~K. Crumley, 9/1/2014

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

