Ten Reasons Why I’m Doing NaNoWriMo This year…

There are a lot of “Non-Nano” and “Nan-Not” post out here in the blogging world…

I just thought I’d add my two cents and state why I decided to give it a try again this year. Specifically, my own personal reasons for doing nano…and why I think I really need to at this time.

1. Why not? Since I’ve been laid off from my day job I have plenty of time on my hands. Lord knows it’s a better time waster than playing Angry Birds, Temple Run, etc. 😉

2. Self-esteem. Finishing my writing project on time aka “winning” Nano will give me a sense of accomplishment and boost my self-esteem, which I really need right now.

3. Self-discipline. I tend to start writing projects and not finish them. And, as of late I haven’t been disciplining myself to sit my butt in the chair and write for at least 3-4 hours. Participating in nano will help me do this, stop me from chasing after the next “shinny thing” because I have a goal with a deadline, and need to stick to it.

4. Freeing my creativity. The need to just sit, and let my mind flow…let the words flow.

5. My sanity! Good Lord, yes! The need to pour out my emotions in text format, use writing as a way to deal with things that frustrate me…Yeah. And, with Nano’s “rule” of not worrying about making it perfect I can do just that. If I get mad at somebody I can have my protagonist fictionally kill them. LOL

6. Forming good habits. Good writing habits, that is. When I wrote Wishful Thinking it was for Nanowrimo 2007, and the habit of writing every day lasted long, long past november. True, I did worry more about the rules of mechanics, punctuation, grammar, syntax, and style…but I kept up the good habit of writing daily, having a monthy and daily word count goal and a need to finish what I started.

As Og Mandino wrote, “I will form good habits, and become their slave.”

7. It’s fun. Simple as that.

8. Writing every day makes you a better writer, as does reading every day.

9. It will make me a better editor too. When this draft is finished, and after it sits for a while unnoticed, I will have my work cut out for me for sure! I will have a ton of revisions to tackle, from correcting misspellings and typos due to writing in a rush, fix my plot holes, add dialogue, etc…and then the fun stuff. Grammar. Punctuation. Spelling. Style. Syntax. Mechanics. Come January, I will have just as much practice doing all of that work as the work I am doing writing now. Thus, my skills will be sharpened.

10. When all is said and done, I will have added a great new body of work to my repertoire. And, I can do what I chose with it, polish it up to send to a publisher or have final edits done by an affordable editor, and publish it myself. 😉 You can never read or write too many books. 😉

The more you write, the more likely you are to become successful…So why not Nano?

Write with pride,
~K Crumley

Leave a comment

Filed under authors, creativity, day job, Fantasy Fiction, Goals, Goals and Resolutions, schedules, self-confidence, self-discipline, self-publishing/indie publishing, Staying focused, time management, time wasters, writing

Leave a Reply

