My Own Top 5 Superbowl Half-time Performances

I feel like I missed out, when I was in my teen and even Pre-teen years. Superbowl half-time performances were never as “cool,” hip and modern as they are now. During the 70’s and 80’s half-time shows were performed by University marching bands, and Up With People. Occasionally, someone like Carol Channing or Tony Bennet would show up.
I missed out on seeing a Duran Duran half-time show. And, it wouldn’t be until years later that I’d get to see U2. That being said, I really enjoy the new hip, pop and rock themed Superbowl Half-Time shows (some more than others…).
That being said, here’s the list of my top 5 Superbowl Half-time performances.

1. U2

Without a doubt, one of my all-time favorite bands. Their performance was like a real rock concert. Most importantly, they were themselves—or should I say that Bono was himself, not one of his on-stage personas.
Plus, they sang some of my favorite songs by them and the 9/11 tribute was tasteful and very touching.

2. Diana Ross

The original Diva in all her divine glory! I found it very exciting when she went up in the helicopter to Take Me Higher/I Will Survive. The lady is a class act!

3. Michael Jackson

What can I say…it was just so Michael. 🙂

4. Beyonce’

Fantastic! Beautiful and talented Beyonce’ Knowles performed her most popular songs, reunitied with Destiny’s Child (Fellow “Angels” Michelle Williams and Kelly Rowland), and finished with the touching song Halo. I actually had to get up and dance right along with her!
I also really liked the “Pepsi Fan-made Count down!” That was a really cool twist.

5. It’s a tie! Between …
Black Eyed Peas, Slash, and Usher


Fast-paced, eclectic, and energetic! No less than what I’d expect from the Black Eyed Peas.

…and Sting and No Doubt!

Somehow that is just the right combination!

I know a lot of people would disagree with my list, but these are just my picks for faves. I’m sure you have your own. If not for subjectivity, and different taste the world would be a rather boring place. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

