No NaNoWriMo This Year. (In the interest of self-discipline.)

I’ve given this some thought, and decided not to participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo.

Keep in mind, I’m not one of those elitist snobs who thinks that NaNo writers are not “real writers” (whatever!) or that it encourages bad books, bad writing, or amateurism. To the contrary, I think NaNo is beneficial for writers, novice and professional alike. NaNo encourages full creative freedom, and gets creative juices flowing. Whether or not it produces an actual publishable product (after revisions & editing of course) is often debatable…but that doesn’t matter! It’s all about creativity.

My reasoning has nothing to do with a manuscript being sub-par at the end of the NaNoWriMo project. Nor, does it have anything to do with “amateur hour” or not viewing it as “real writing.” It has to do with time, and time management. And, also I have a few too many ongoing “works in progress” that I need to complete before the conception of yet another project. I need to start prioritizing. I need to get better at meeting deadlines, and time management.

* I need to focus on the 3rd draft of Charmed Lives. And, redo the whole book cover for both print and ebook editions.

* I need to complete the first draft of Prophecies of Fire. And, work on the covers for that…

Both of these titles should have been released already!

In addition to those projects, I have the publication of the paperback editon of Black Widow & Other Tales (already past my deadline as it is), as well as the release of my free ebook A Prince Reborn. Also, planning a poetry ebook and another short story Daddy’s Little Girl. I’m hoping for a “superbowl sunday” release of that one.

All of these projects need completed before I move on to create anything new from scratch & devote an entire month to it.

I will be cramming, and driving myself crazy…just like all of the NaNo writers. But, it will be by completing these projects.

Wish me luck!
And, good luck to all of you NaNo participants! 🙂

~K. Crumley

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

